All
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | W | Y | Z
Alexander Elizabeth Alexander
Thomas E. Donnelley Professor of African American Studies & Professor American Studies & English
203-432-9061
elizabeth.alexander@yale.edu
African-American
Bloom Harold Bloom
Sterling Professor of the Humanities and English
203-432-0029
harold.bloom@yale.edu
Non-fiction Prose, Poetry, Victorian
Brantley Jessica Brantley
Associate Professor of English
203-432-2227
jessica.brantley@yale.edu
Drama, Gender & Sexuality, History of the Book, Literature & Visual Arts, Middle English language and literature, Old English language and literature
Brisman Leslie Brisman
Karl Young Professor of English
203-432-0488
leslie.brisman@yale.edu
Early Modern, Poetry, Romantic, Victorian
Bromwich David Bromwich
Sterling Professor of English
203-432-0855
david.bromwich@yale.edu
Eighteenth-Century, History of Literary Criticism, Non-fiction Prose, Poetry, Romantic, Theory
Modern poetry; political writing and moral philosophy (18th and 19th century).
Butterfield Ardis Butterfield
Professor of English
203-432-9474
ardis.butterfield@yale.edu
Campbell Jill Campbell
Professor of English
203-432-6896
jill.campbell@yale.edu
Drama, Eighteenth-Century, Gender & Sexuality, Novel, Romantic
18th-century British literature and culture
Carlisle Janice Carlisle
Professor of English
203-432-2259
janice.carlisle@yale.edu
Literature & Philosophy, Literature & Visual Arts, Non-fiction Prose, Novel, Victorian
Victorian literature and culture, narrative, autobiography; Victorian fiction and non-fiction prose, especially working-class autobiographies; literature and politics; fiction and sensory experience; Dickens
Cleary Joe Cleary
Visiting Professor
203-432-5764
joseph.n.cleary@yale.edu
Colonial & Postcolonial
Modern Irish Literature, Modernism and World Literature, Marxist Cultural Theory, Literary Criticism and Literary History.
Cornelius Ian Cornelius
Assistant Professor of English
203-432-6894
ian.cornelius@yale.edu
History of Literary Criticism, Middle English language and literature, Old English language and literature, Theory
Alliterative poetry and prose; medieval Latin grammar and rhetoric; sociology of culture; psychoanalytic and Marxist literary theory.
Denning Michael Denning
Professor of American Studies and English
203-432-2267
michael.denning@yale.edu
Dimock Wai Chee Dimock
William Lampson Professor of English & American Studies
203-432-2228
wai.chee.dimock@yale.edu
African-American, American, Colonial & Postcolonial, Contemporary Literature, History of Literary Criticism, Literature & Philosophy, Literature & Visual Arts, Media Studies, Novel, Poetry, Theory, World Anglophone
Frank Roberta Frank
Marie Borroff Professor of English
203-432-2238
roberta.frank@yale.edu
Old English language and literature, Poetry
Literature and history of Northwest Europe in the early medieval period (700-1100), esp. Anglo-Saxon England and Viking Scandinavia; Old English poetic style; Northern legend; Victorian and twentieth-century medievalisms; the afterlife of Tacitus
Fry Paul Fry
William Lampson Professor of English & Director of Graduate Studies
email preferred
paul.fry@yale.edu
Eighteenth-Century, History of Literary Criticism, Literature & Philosophy, Literature & Visual Arts, Modern British, Poetry, Romantic, Theory
Glaser Ben Glaser
Assistant Professor of English
203-432-2234
ben.glaser@yale.edu
African-American, American, Contemporary Literature, Gender & Sexuality, Literature & Philosophy, Modern British, Poetry, Theory, Victorian
Goldsby Jacqueline Goldsby
Professor of English & African American Studies
203-432-3744
jacqueline.goldsby@yale.edu
African-American, American, History of Literary Criticism, History of the Book, Literature & Visual Arts, Theory
African American Literary Theory & Criticism,Theories of Historicism, Digital Humanities, Forms, Functions & Fates of the Archive
Grimstad Paul Grimstad
Assistant Professor of English
203-432-7658
paul.grimstad@yale.edu
American, Literature & Philosophy, Non-fiction Prose, Theory
Intellectual history; French-American influence (literary, philosophical, cinematic); detective fiction; science-fiction; modernism and modernity
Hammer Langdon Hammer
Professor of English & Department Chair (Fall)
203-432-2236
langdon.hammer@yale.edu
American, Contemporary Literature, Modern British, Poetry, Poetry Writing
Homans Margaret Homans
Professor of English and Women's, Gender, & Sexuality Studies
203-432-4650
margaret.homans@yale.edu
African-American, Gender & Sexuality, Modern British, Romantic, Victorian
Hungerford Amy Hungerford
Professor of English and American Studies; Master Morse College
203-432-7590
amy.hungerford@yale.edu
American, Contemporary Literature, History of Literary Criticism, History of the Book, Novel, Poetry, Poetry Writing, Theory
Twentieth- and twenty-first-century American literature, contemporary fiction, history of criticism and theory, religion and literature, literature of genocide, history of the book, the publishing industry
Kastan David Scott Kastan
George M. Bodman Professor of English
203-432-2242
david.kastan@yale.edu
Drama, Early Modern, History of the Book, Media Studies
Early Modern Literature and Culture,Editing and Editorial Theory, Literary Theory
Lee Wendy Lee
Assistant Professor of English
203-432-2240
wendy.lee@yale.edu
Eighteenth-Century, History of Literary Criticism, Journalism, Literature & Philosophy, Novel, Theory, Victorian
Affect studies, Jane Austen Studies
Manley Lawrence Manley
William R Kenan Jr Professor of English
203-432-2249
lawrence.manley@yale.edu
Drama, Early Modern, History of Literary Criticism, World Anglophone
Early Modern, Shakespeare, History of Criticism, the City in Literature
Markovits Stefanie Markovits
Professor of English
203-432-9078
stefanie.markovits@yale.edu
Eighteenth-Century, Literature & Philosophy, Literature & Visual Arts, Non-fiction Prose, Novel, Romantic, Victorian
English literature of the long Nineteenth Century: both Romantic and Victorian, both poetry and the novel. German classical literature (especially Goethe and Schiller), aesthetic theory, war and literature, and genre theory.
Minnis Alastair Minnis
Douglas Tracy Smith Professor of English
203-432-2245
alastair.minnis@yale.edu
Middle English language and literature, Old English language and literature
Chaucer and his intellectual milieu; late-medieval literature (chiefly Middle English, but also French and Italian); medieval literary theory; medieval study of the Bible and classical literature (including Boethius); scholasticism and its vernacular intersections.