Faculty

All

B | C | D | E | F | G | H | J | K | L | M | N | P | Q | R | S | T | W | X | Y | Z
James Berger
Senior Lecturer in English and American Studies
james.berger@yale.edu
American, Contemporary Literature, Theory
Murray Biggs
Adjunct Associate Professor of Theater Studies - Retired
murray.biggs@yale.edu
Drama
Harold Bloom
Sterling Professor of the Humanities and English
203-432-0029
harold.bloom@yale.edu
Non-fiction Prose, Poetry, Victorian
Marie Borroff
Sterling Professor Emeritus English
marie.borroff@yale.edu
Middle English language and literature, Old English language and literature, Poetry, Poetry Writing
Jessica Brantley
Professor of English & Director of Undergraduate Studies
203-432-7663
jessica.brantley@yale.edu
Drama, History of the Book, Middle English language and literature, Old English language and literature
Leslie Brisman
Karl Young Professor of English
203-432-0488
leslie.brisman@yale.edu
Early Modern, Poetry, Romantic, Victorian
David Bromwich
Sterling Professor of English
203-432-0855
david.bromwich@yale.edu
Eighteenth-Century, History of Literary Criticism, Non-fiction Prose, Poetry, Romantic, Theory
Ardis Butterfield
John M. Schiff Professor of English & Director of Graduate Studies, Professor of French and of Music
203-432-5764
ardis.butterfield@yale.edu
Middle English language and literature
Jill Campbell
Professor of English
203-432-6896
jill.campbell@yale.edu
Drama, Eighteenth-Century, Novel, Romantic
Janice Carlisle
Professor of English
203-432-2259
janice.carlisle@yale.edu
Non-fiction Prose, Novel, Victorian
John Crowley
Senior Lecturer in English, Creative Writing
203-432-2250
john.crowley@yale.edu
Creative Writing
Michael Cunningham
Senior Lecturer in English, Creative Writing
michael.cunningham@yale.edu
Creative Writing
Richard Deming
Senior Lecturer in English & Director of Creative Writing
203-432-9642
richard.deming@yale.edu
Creative Writing
Michael Denning
Professor of American Studies and English
203-432-2267
michael.denning@yale.edu
American
Wai Chee Dimock
William Lampson Professor of English & American Studies
203-432-2228
wai.chee.dimock@yale.edu
African-American, American, Contemporary Literature, History of Literary Criticism, Media Studies, Novel, Poetry, Theory, World Anglophone
Anne Fadiman
Adjunct Professor of English, Francis Writer in Residence
203-432-5325
anne.fadiman@yale.edu
Creative Writing
Marta Figlerowicz
Assistant Professor of Comparative Literature and English
203-432-2763
marta.figlerowicz@yale.edu
American, Contemporary Literature, Eighteenth-Century, Literature & Philosophy, Modern British, Poetry, Theory
Roberta Frank
Marie Borroff Professor of English
203-432-2238
roberta.frank@yale.edu
Old English language and literature, Poetry
Paul Fry
William Lampson Professor of English
paul.fry@yale.edu

Yale NUS, Singapore through May 2016

Eighteenth-Century, History of Literary Criticism, Modern British, Poetry, Romantic, Theory
Ben Glaser
Assistant Professor of English
203-432-2234
ben.glaser@yale.edu

On Leave Fall 2016

African-American, American, Contemporary Literature, Modern British, Poetry, Theory, Victorian
Louise Glück
Adjunct Professor of English RosenKranz Writer in Residence, Creative Writing
203-432-6895
Creative Writing, Poetry
Jacqueline Goldsby
Professor of English & African American Studies
203-432-3744
jacqueline.goldsby@yale.edu
African-American, American, History of Literary Criticism, History of the Book, Theory
Sara Goodyear
Professor Emeritus of English
203-432-8827
sara.goodyear@yale.edu
Langdon Hammer
Niel Gray, Jr. Professor of English & Department Chair
203-432-2236
langdon.hammer@yale.edu
American, Contemporary Literature, Modern British, Poetry, Poetry Writing
Margaret Homans
Professor of English and Women's, Gender, & Sexuality Studies
203-432-4650
margaret.homans@yale.edu

On Leave Fall 2016

African-American, Modern British, Romantic, Victorian
Amy Hungerford
Professor of English and American Studies; Director Division of Humanities
203-432-9665
amy.hungerford@yale.edu
American, Contemporary Literature, History of Literary Criticism, History of the Book, Novel, Poetry, Poetry Writing, Theory
David Kastan
George M. Bodman Professor of English
203-432-2242
david.kastan@yale.edu
Drama, Early Modern, History of the Book, Media Studies
Heather Klemann
Director of Expository Writing
heather.klemann@yale.edu
Eighteenth-Century, Victorian
Jonathan Kramnick
Maynard Mack Professor of English
203-432-2248
jonathan.kramnick@yale.edu

On Leave Academic Year 2016-2017

Eighteenth-Century, Literature & Ecology, Literature & Philosophy, Literature & Science
Traugott Lawler
Professor Emeritus of English
203-432-6366
traugott.lawler@yale.edu
Middle English language and literature, Old English language and literature
Lawrence Manley
William R Kenan Jr Professor of English
203-432-2249
lawrence.manley@yale.edu
Drama, Early Modern, History of Literary Criticism, World Anglophone
Donald Margulies
Adjunct Professor of English
203-432-2235
donald.margulies@yale.edu
Creative Writing
Stefanie Markovits
Professor of English
203-432-9078
stefanie.markovits@yale.edu

On Leave Fall 2016​

Eighteenth-Century, Non-fiction Prose, Novel, Romantic, Victorian
J. D. McClatchy
Prof (Adj) English; Prof (Adj) English & Editor The Yale Review
203-432-0499
j.d.mcclatchy@yale.edu
Creative Writing
Alastair Minnis
Douglas Tracy Smith Professor of English
203-432-2245
alastair.minnis@yale.edu
Middle English language and literature, Old English language and literature
Stephanie Newell
Professor of English
203-432-2246
stephanie.newell@yale.edu
Colonial & Postcolonial, World Anglophone
Catherine Nicholson
Associate Professor of English
203-432-2243
catherine.nicholson@yale.edu
Drama, Early Modern, History of Literary Criticism, Poetry
Joseph North
Assistant Professor of English & Associate Director of Undergraduate Studies
joseph.north@yale.edu
History of Literary Criticism, Theory
Annabel Patterson
Sterling Professor Emeritus of English
203-432-7596
annabel.patterson@yale.edu
Caryl Phillips
Professor of English
203-432-6893
caryl.phillips@yale.edu
Contemporary Literature, Creative Writing, Fiction Writing, Modern British, Non-fiction Prose, Novel, World Anglophone
David Quint
Sterling Professor Comparative Literature and English
203-432-2229
david.quint@yale.edu
Drama, Early Modern, World Anglophone
Claude Rawson
Maynard Mack Professor Emeritus of English
claude.rawson@yale.edu
Eighteenth-Century, Modern British, Non-fiction Prose, Novel, Poetry
Anthony Reed
Associate Professor of English & African American Studies
203-432-1033
anthony.reed@yale.edu

On Leave Fall 2016

African-American, American, Media Studies, Poetry, Theory, World Anglophone
Jill Richards
Assistant Professor of English
jill.richards@yale.edu

On Leave Academic Year 2016-2017

Fiction Writing, Gender & Sexuality, Novel
Joseph Roach
Sterling Professor of Theater and English, Chair of the Theater Studies Advisory Committee and Director of Theater
203-432-2231
joseph.roach@yale.edu
Drama, Eighteenth-Century
Marc Robinson
Professor of English and Theater Studies, Professor Adjunct of Dramaturgy and Dramatic Criticism, School of Drama
203-432-0748
marc.robinson@yale.edu
American, Drama
John Rogers
Professor of English
203-432-2264
john.rogers@yale.edu
Early Modern
Shifra Sharlin
Senior Lecturer in English
203-432-7933
shifra.sharlin@yale.edu
Caleb Smith
Professor of English
203-432-0574
caleb.smith@yale.edu

On Leave Academic Year 2016-2017

African-American, American, History of Literary Criticism, History of the Book, Theory
Robert Stepto
Professor of English, African American Studies, and American Studies
203-432-2268, 203-432-1170
robert.stepto@yale.edu
African-American, American, Non-fiction Prose
Fred Strebeigh
Senior Lecturer, English and Forestry & Environmental Studies Course Director, English 120
203-432-2250
fred.strebeigh@yale.edu

On Leave Academic Year 2016-2017

Creative Writing
Katie Trumpener
Professor of Comparative Literature and English
203-432-7674
katie.trumpener@yale.edu

On Leave Fall 2016

Colonial & Postcolonial, Drama, Eighteenth-Century, History of the Book, Literature & Visual Arts, Media Studies, Modern British, Novel, Romantic, Victorian, World Anglophone
Michael Warner
Seymour H. Knox Professor of English, Professor of American Studies
203-436-2590
michael.warner@yale.edu
African-American, American, Eighteenth-Century, History of the Book, Media Studies, Theory
Alexander Welsh
Emily Sanford Professor Emeritus of English
203-432-0906
alexander.welsh@yale.edu
R. John Williams
Associate Professor of English
203-432-2237
robert.j.williams@yale.edu
American, Colonial & Postcolonial, History of Literary Criticism, History of the Book, Literature & Philosophy, Literature & Visual Arts, Novel, Theory
Sunny Xiang
Assistant Professor of English
sunny.xiang@yale.edu
Ruth Yeazell
Chace Family Professor of English
203-432-2239
ruth.yeazell@yale.edu
American, Eighteenth-Century, Modern British, Novel, Victorian
Cynthia Zarin
Senior Lecturer in English, Writing Concentration Coordinator
203-432-0756
cynthia.zarin@yale.edu
Creative Writing