Faculty

All

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | J | K | L | M | N | P | Q | R | S | T | W | Y | Z
Elizabeth Alexander
Thomas E. Donnelley Professor of African American Studies & Professor American Studies & English
203-432-9061
elizabeth.alexander@yale.edu
African-American, Contemporary Literature, Creative Writing, Drama, Poetry, Poetry Writing
Edward Ball
Lecturer in English
203-432-7989
edward.ball@yale.edu
James Berger
Senior Lecturer, English and American Studies
james.berger@yale.edu
American, Contemporary Literature, Theory
Murray Biggs
Adjunct Associate Professor of Theater Studies
203-432-0391
murray.biggs@yale.edu
Drama
Harold Bloom
Sterling Professor of the Humanities and English
203-432-0029
harold.bloom@yale.edu
Non-fiction Prose, Poetry, Victorian
Marie Borroff
Sterling Professor Emeritus English
marie.borroff@yale.edu
Middle English language and literature, Old English language and literature, Poetry, Poetry Writing
Jessica Brantley
Associate Professor of English
203-432-7663
jessica.brantley@yale.edu
Drama, History of the Book, Middle English language and literature, Old English language and literature
Steven Brill
Lecturer in English, Creative Writing & Journalism
203-432-2233
steven.brill@yale.edu
Journalism
Leslie Brisman
Karl Young Professor of English
203-432-0488
leslie.brisman@yale.edu
Early Modern, Poetry, Romantic, Victorian
David Bromwich
Sterling Professor of English
203-432-0855
david.bromwich@yale.edu
Eighteenth-Century, History of Literary Criticism, Non-fiction Prose, Poetry, Romantic, Theory
Ardis Butterfield
Professor of English
203-432-5764
ardis.butterfield@yale.edu
Middle English language and literature
Jill Campbell
Professor of English
203-432-6896
jill.campbell@yale.edu
Drama, Eighteenth-Century, Novel, Romantic
Janice Carlisle
Professor of English
203-432-2259
janice.carlisle@yale.edu
Non-fiction Prose, Novel, Victorian
Danielle Chapman
Lect English
203-432-7989
danielle.chapman@yale.edu
Creative Writing
Ian Cornelius
Assistant Professor of English
203-432-6894
ian.cornelius@yale.edu
History of Literary Criticism, Middle English language and literature, Old English language and literature, Theory
John Crowley
Senior Lecturer in English, Creative Writing
203-432-2250
john.crowley@yale.edu
Creative Writing
Michael Cunningham
Senior Lecturer in English, Creative Writing
michael.cunningham@yale.edu
Creative Writing
Richard Deming
Senior Lecturer in English, Director of Creative Writing
203-432-9641
richard.deming@yale.edu
Creative Writing
Michael Denning
Professor of American Studies and English
203-432-2267
michael.denning@yale.edu
American
Wai Chee Dimock
William Lampson Professor of English & American Studies
203-432-2228
wai.chee.dimock@yale.edu
African-American, American, Contemporary Literature, History of Literary Criticism, Media Studies, Novel, Poetry, Theory, World Anglophone
Andrew Ehrgood
Lecturer in English, Course Director, English 121
203-464-0802
andrew.ehrgood@yale.edu
Randi Epstein
Lecturer in English
randi.epstein@yale.edu
Anne Fadiman
Adjunct Professor of English, Francis Writer in Residence
203-432-5325
anne.fadiman@yale.edu
Creative Writing
Marta Figlerowicz
Assistant Professor of Comparative Literature and English
203-432-2763
marta.figlerowicz@yale.edu
American, Contemporary Literature, Eighteenth-Century, Literature & Philosophy, Modern British, Poetry, Theory
Roberta Frank
Marie Borroff Professor of English
203-432-2238
roberta.frank@yale.edu
Old English language and literature, Poetry
Paul Fry
William Lampson Professor of English & Director of Graduate Studies
203-432-2226
paul.fry@yale.edu
Eighteenth-Century, History of Literary Criticism, Modern British, Poetry, Romantic, Theory
Michael Gibbons
Lecturer in English
203-436-9556
michael.gibbons@yale.edu
Ben Glaser
Asst Prof English
203-432-2234
ben.glaser@yale.edu
African-American, American, Contemporary Literature, Gender & Sexuality, Literature & Philosophy, Modern British, Poetry, Theory, Victorian
Louise Glück
Adjunct Professor of English RosenKranz Writer in Residence, Creative Writing
203-432-6895
Creative Writing, Poetry
Jacqueline Goldsby
Professor of English & African American Studies
203-432-3744
jacqueline.goldsby@yale.edu
African-American, American, History of Literary Criticism, History of the Book, Theory
Sara Goodyear
Professor Emeritus of English
203-432-8827
sara.goodyear@yale.edu
Karin Gosselink
Lecturer in English
203-432-7519
karin.gosselink@yale.edu
Paul Grimstad
Assistant Professor of English
203-432-7658
paul.grimstad@yale.edu
American, Non-fiction Prose, Theory
Alfred Guy
R.W.B. Lewis Director, Yale College Writing Center
203-432-7492
alfred.guy@yale.edu
Langdon Hammer
Professor of English & Department Chair (Fall)
203-432-2233
langdon.hammer@yale.edu
American, Contemporary Literature, Modern British, Poetry, Poetry Writing
Geoffrey Hartman
Sterling Professor Emeritus & Senior Research Scholar of English and Comparative Literature
203-432-2761
geoffrey.hartman@yale.edu
Emily Hayman
Research Associate; Lect English
203-432-0902
emily.hayman@yale.edu
Margaret Homans
Professor of English and Women's, Gender, & Sexuality Studies
203-432-4650
margaret.homans@yale.edu
African-American, Modern British, Romantic, Victorian
Tom Hopkins
Lecturer in English
tom.hopkins@yale.edu
Creative Writing
Briallen Hopper
Lecturer in English
briallen.hopper@yale.edu
Amy Hungerford
Professor of English and American Studies; Master Morse College
203-432-0396
amy.hungerford@yale.edu
American, Contemporary Literature, History of Literary Criticism, History of the Book, Novel, Poetry, Poetry Writing, Theory
Rona Johnston Gordon
Lecturer in English
2034369019
rona.gordon@yale.edu
Nalini Jones
Lecturer
nalini.jones@yale.edu
Contemporary Literature, Fiction Writing
David Kastan
George M. Bodman Professor of English
203-432-2242
david.kastan@yale.edu
Drama, Early Modern, History of the Book, Media Studies
Alice Kelly
Lect English
alice.kelly@yale.edu
Heather Klemann
Lecturer in English
heather.klemann@yale.edu
Eighteenth-Century, Victorian
Verlyn Klinkenborg
Lecturer in English
verlyn.klinkenborg@yale.edu
Michael Komorowski
Lecturer in English
michael.komorowski@yale.edu
Jonathan Kramnick
Professor of English
203-432-2248
jonathan.kramnick@yale.edu
Eighteenth-Century, Literature & Philosophy
Timothy Kreiner
Lect English
203-432-2233
timothy.kreiner@yale.edu
Traugott Lawler
Professor Emeritus of English
203-432-6366
traugott.lawler@yale.edu
Middle English language and literature, Old English language and literature
Lawrence Manley
William R Kenan Jr Professor of English
203-432-2249
lawrence.manley@yale.edu
Drama, Early Modern, History of Literary Criticism, World Anglophone
Donald Margulies
Adjunct Professor of English
203-432-2246
donald.margulies@yale.edu
Creative Writing
Stefanie Markovits
Professor of English
203-432-9078
stefanie.markovits@yale.edu
Eighteenth-Century, Non-fiction Prose, Novel, Romantic, Victorian
Allyson McCabe
Lecturer in English
allyson.mccabe@yale.edu
J.D. McClatchy
Prof (Adj) English; Prof (Adj) English & Editor The Yale Review
203-432-0499
j.d.mcclatchy@yale.edu
Creative Writing
Andrew McKendry
Lecturer
203-432-2246
andrew.mckendry@yale.edu
Eighteenth-Century
Alastair Minnis
Douglas Tracy Smith Professor of English
203-432-2245
alastair.minnis@yale.edu
Middle English language and literature, Old English language and literature
Justin Neuman
Assistant Professor of English
203-432-2247
justin.neuman@yale.edu
Contemporary Literature, Modern British, Non-fiction Prose, Novel, Theory, World Anglophone
Pamela Newton
Lecturer in English
pamela.newton@yale.edu
Drama, Fiction Writing, Gender & Sexuality, Journalism, Non-fiction Prose, Poetry, Poetry Writing
Catherine Nicholson
Assistant Professor of English
203-432-2243
catherine.nicholson@yale.edu
Drama, Early Modern, History of Literary Criticism, Poetry
Annabel Patterson
Sterling Professor Emeritus of English
203-432-7596
annabel.patterson@yale.edu
Linda Peterson
Niel Gray, Jr. Professor of English
203-432-0528
linda.peterson@yale.edu
History of the Book, Non-fiction Prose, Victorian
Caryl Phillips
Professor of English
203-432-6893
caryl.phillips@yale.edu
Contemporary Literature, Creative Writing, Fiction Writing, Modern British, Non-fiction Prose, Novel, World Anglophone
David Quint
Sterling Professor Comparative Literature and English
203-432-2229
david.quint@yale.edu
Drama, Early Modern, World Anglophone
Claude Rawson
Maynard Mack Professor Emeritus of English
claude.rawson@yale.edu
Eighteenth-Century, Modern British, Non-fiction Prose, Novel, Poetry
Anthony Reed
Assistant Professor of English & African American Studies
203-432-1033
anthony.reed@yale.edu
African-American, American, Media Studies, Poetry, Theory, World Anglophone
Jill Richards
Assistant Professor of English
jill.richards@yale.edu
Fiction Writing, Gender & Sexuality, Novel
Joseph Roach
Sterling Professor of Theater and English, Chair of the Theater Studies Advisory Committee and Director of Theater
203-432-2231
joseph.roach@yale.edu
Drama, Eighteenth-Century
Fred Robinson
Douglas Tracy Smith Professor Emeritus English
fred.robinson@yale.edu
Marc Robinson
Professor of English and Theater Studies, Professor Adjunct of Dramaturgy and Dramatic Criticism, School of Drama
203-432-0748
marc.robinson@yale.edu
American, Drama
Timothy Robinson
Lecturer in English
203-432-5581
timothy.robinson@yale.edu
Karin Roffman
Lect Yale Col Humanities and English; Assoc Rsrch Sci/Scholar American Studies
karin.roffman@yale.edu
John Rogers
Professor of English and Director of Undergraduate Studies
203-432-2264
john.rogers@yale.edu
Early Modern
Pamela Schirmeister
Associate Dean, The Graduate School, Dean for Special Projects, Associate Dean, Yale College, Lecturer in English
203-432-9098
pamela.schirmeister@yale.edu
Adam Sexton
Lecturer in English, Trumbull College Writing Tutor
203-432-9665
adam.sexton@yale.edu
Non-fiction Prose
Shifra Sharlin
Lecturer in English
203-432-7933
shifra.sharlin@yale.edu
Kim Shirkhani
Lecturer in English
203-432-2233
kim.shirkhani@yale.edu
Cathy Shufro
Lecturer in English
203-432-0514
cathy.shufro@yale.edu
Alina Simone
Lecturer
alina.simone@yale.edu
Caleb Smith
Professor of English
203-432-0574
caleb.smith@yale.edu
African-American, American, History of Literary Criticism, History of the Book, Theory
Margaret Spillane
Lecturer in English
203-432-1005
margaret.spillane@yale.edu
Robert Stepto
Professor of English, African American Studies, and American Studies
203-432-2268, 203-432-1170
robert.stepto@yale.edu
African-American, American, Non-fiction Prose
Fred Strebeigh
Senior Lecturer, English and Forestry & Environmental Studies Course Director, English 120
203-432-2250
fred.strebeigh@yale.edu
Creative Writing
Barbara Stuart
Lecturer in English
203-432-7998
barbara.stuart@yale.edu
Katie Trumpener
Professor of Comparative Literature and English
203-432-7674
katie.trumpener@yale.edu
Colonial & Postcolonial, Drama, Eighteenth-Century, History of the Book, Literature & Visual Arts, Media Studies, Modern British, Novel, Romantic, Victorian, World Anglophone
Brian Walsh
Associate Professor of English
203-432-9070
brian.walsh@yale.edu
Drama, Early Modern
Michael Warner
Seymour H. Knox Professor of English, Professor of American Studies
203-432-2233
michael.warner@yale.edu
African-American, American, Eighteenth-Century, History of the Book, Media Studies, Theory
Meg Weisberg
Lecturer in English
203-432-7990
meg.weisberg@yale.edu
Alexander Welsh
Emily Sanford Professor Emeritus of English
203-432-0906
alexander.welsh@yale.edu
Ryan Wepler
Lecturer in English
203-432-0189
ryan.wepler@yale.edu
Thomas Whitaker
Fredrick W Hilles Prof Emeritus Eng & Theater Studies
thomas.whitaker@yale.edu
Grant Wiedenfeld
Teacher Yale College
grant.wiedenfeld@yale.edu
R. John Williams
Assistant Professor of English and Associate Director of Undergraduate Studies
203-432-2237
robert.j.williams@yale.edu
American, Colonial & Postcolonial, History of Literary Criticism, History of the Book, Literature & Philosophy, Literature & Visual Arts, Novel, Theory
Christian Wiman
Sr Lect Inst of Sacred Music and Divinity Sch
christian.wiman@yale.edu
Robert Woodward
Lecturer
203-432-5764
bob.woodward@yale.edu
Journalism
Ruth Yeazell
Chace Family Professor of English
203-432-2239
ruth.yeazell@yale.edu
American, Eighteenth-Century, Modern British, Novel, Victorian
Cynthia Zarin
Senior Lecturer in English, Writing Concentration Coordinator, Creative Writing
203-432-0756
cynthia.zarin@yale.edu
Creative Writing
Carl Zimmer
Lecturer in English
carl.zimmer@yale.edu
Creative Writing