Graduate Prize Winners

student awards wreath
June 4, 2015

The English Department is pleased to announce the graduate student award winners of 2014-2015!

Prize Teaching Fellowship:

Anya Adair

Beinecke Pre-Dissertation Fellowship:

Stephen Krewson

Beinecke Dissertation Fellowships:

Joseph Stadolnik
Elizabeth Wiet

The Noah Webster Prize:

Anya Adair – “Swift, Satire and the Second Person Pronoun”
Matthew Hunter – “City Comedy, Public Style”

The Departmental Essay Prize for Excellence in Coursework: 

Anna Shechtman – “J.D. Salinger’s White Writing:  Authenticity and the Tone of Late Capitalism”

The Departmental Prize for Best Essay Accepted for Publication:

Jordan Brower – “The Mill on the Floss, Riparian Law, and the Difficulty of Judgment” (forthcoming in English Literature History)
Andrew Brown – ‘Being Unseminared’:  Pleasure, Instruction, and Playing the Queen in Anthony and Cleopatra (book chapter for Shakespeare and Consciousness, eds. Paul Budra and Clifford Werier, Ashgate, forthcoming 2015)

The Departmental Prize for Best Dissertation:

Samuel Fallon - “Personal Effects:  Persona and Literary Culture in Elizabethan England”
Justin Sider - “Parting Words:  Address and Exemplarity in Victorian Poetry”


News Type: