Student Directory

All

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | P | R | S | T | W | Y
Name Year Areas of Interest
Michael Abraham's picture Michael Abraham
michael.abraham@yale.edu
1st Year

Modernism; feminism; gender studies; poetics; English occultism; reactionary politics

Marcus Alaimo's picture Marcus Alaimo
marcus.alaimo@yale.edu
2nd Year

Nineteenth-century American literature; romanticism; philosophy and literature.

Phoenix Alexander's picture Phoenix Alexander
phoenix.alexander@yale.edu
5th Year

Afrofuturism; 19th-/20th-century African and African American literature; psychoanalysis; sci-fi/cli-fi; feminist science and technology studies.

Anusha Alles's picture Anusha Alles
anusha.alles@yale.edu
6th Year

Twentieth-/21st-century African American and South Asian American literature; postcolonial literature of the South Asian diaspora.

Carla Baricz's picture Carla Baricz
carla.baricz@yale.edu
7th Year

Sixteenth-/17th-century literature; Shakespeare and early modern drama; history of the theater; book history and manuscript studies; humanism and the classical tradition; Eastern European Renaissance.

Shannon Beddingfield's picture Shannon Beddingfield
shannon.beddingfield@yale.edu
7th Year

Medieval

Jason Bell's picture Jason Bell
jason.bell@yale.edu
4th Year

Nineteenth-/20th-century American Literature; migration studies; regionalism; legal history; ecocriticism and environmental justice

Andie Berry's picture Andie Berry
andie.berry@yale.edu
1st Year

Twentieth-/21st-century African American and black diasporic; literature; drama; collective memory and trauma

Anna Birinyi's picture Anna Birinyi
anna.birinyi@yale.edu
1st Year

Modernism; 20th-/21st-century British literature; James Joyce; Virginia Woolf

Andrew Brown's picture Andrew Brown
andrew.s.brown@yale.edu
5th Year

Early modern literature and political thought; theater history; history of the book; digital humanities; history of science and medicine.

Wing Chun Julia Chan's picture Wing Chun Julia Chan
julia.chan@yale.edu
6th Year

Critical theory; early modern; literature and politics

Peter Conroy's picture Peter Conroy
peter.conroy@yale.edu
2nd Year

Nineteenth-/20th-century; critical theory; literature and philosophy.

Daniel de la Rocha's picture Daniel de la Rocha
daniel.diazdelarocha@yale.edu
2nd Year

Eighteenth- and 19th-century British literature; transatlantic studies; history and theory of the novel and of the short story; film studies

David M. deLeon's picture David M. deLeon
david.deleon@yale.edu
3rd Year

Twentieth-century American poetry; contemporary poetry; lyric theory; performance studies; rhetoric; drama; the modern long poem; popular music and culture; afrofuturism

Margaret Deli's picture Margaret Deli
margaret.deli@yale.edu
7th Year

My dissertation, “Authorizing Taste: Connoisseurship and Transatlantic Modernity, 1880-1959,” focuses on nineteenth- and twentieth-century tastemakers who learned to manipulate rhetorics of democratization and categories of cultural distinction to gain control of institutional site of aesthetic prestige. Authors and tastemakers of particular interest include John Ruskin, Vernon Lee, Henry James, Edith Wharton, Roger Fry, Matthew Prichard, Virginia Woolf, D.H. Lawrence, Ford Madox Ford, Bernard Berenson, Ernest Hemingway, and Gertrude Stein.

My teaching and research areas include Victorian literature and culture, relations of literature to the visual arts, histories of gossip, scandal, and celebrity, modernism, transatlanticism, the history and literature of female sociopathy, and reading and writing the modern essay.

Clio Doyle's picture Clio Doyle
clio.doyle@yale.edu
4th Year

Medieval and early modern; classical reception; political economy; food studies; ecocriticism; animal studies; book history, particularly the print history of classical literature; the history of commentaries and the teaching of classical languages; text and image; poetry

Seamus Dwyer's picture Seamus Dwyer
seamus.dwyer@yale.edu
1st Year

Middle English poetry and prose; especially lyric; medieval politics in literature; multilingualism; manuscript studies; book history

James Ensley's picture James Ensley
james.ensley@yale.edu
3rd Year

Medieval literature, book history, devotional literature, early print culture

Paul Franz's picture Paul Franz
paul.franz@yale.edu
6th Year

Romanticism; modernism; poetry and poetics; translation.

Maria Del Mar Galindo's picture Maria Del Mar Galindo
mariadelmar.galindo@yale.edu
2nd Year

Medieval and early modern; history of the book; gender and sexuality; Old English biblical verse; romance; identity and representation.

Sophia Gatzionis's picture Sophia Gatzionis
sophia.gatzionis@yale.edu
1st Year

Migrant literature; children’s literature; tragedy; 20th-/21st-century, mythmaking; American literature

Emily Glider's picture Emily Glider
emily.glider@yale.edu
3rd Year

Early modern

Clay Greene's picture Clay Greene
clay.greene@yale.edu
3rd Year

Early modern; 17th-century English literature; Milton; Herbert; theology and literature; prosody; literature and contemporary philosophy; digital humanities

Tess Grogan's picture Tess Grogan
tess.grogan@yale.edu
1st Year

Early modern; gender and sexuality; romance epic

Tobi Haslett's picture Tobi Haslett
anthony.haslett@yale.edu
2nd Year

Twentieth-/21st-century literature; diasporic; intellectual history; Marxism.

Anna Hill's picture Anna Hill
anna.hill@yale.edu
3rd Year

Postcolonial global anglophone; diaspora studies; translation theory; visual arts

Samuel Huber's picture Samuel Huber
samuel.huber@yale.edu
3rd Year

Feminism and queer theory; 20th-/21st-century literature; transatlantic studies; media studies; poetry

Trina Hyun's picture Trina Hyun
trina.hyun@yale.edu
2nd Year

Early modern literature; 17th-century devotional poetry and prose; religious culture; history of the book

Seo Hee Im's picture Seo Hee Im
seohee.im@yale.edu
6th Year

Twentieth-century global Anglophone; modernism; histories and theories of the novel; Marxism; Korean literature and pop culture

Ashley James's picture Ashley James
ashley.james@yale.edu
6th Year

Poetry; visual arts; diaspora

Israel Kassim's picture Israel Kassim
israel.kassim@yale.edu
1st Year

Twentieth-/21st-century; poetry; African-American

Ann Killian's picture Ann Killian
ann.killian@yale.edu
5th Year

Medieval literature; devotional culture; history of the book

Edward King's picture Edward King
edward.king@yale.edu
7th Year

Poetics; prosody; modernism

Stephen Krewson's picture Stephen Krewson
stephen.krewson@yale.edu
6th Year

Early American literature; media history; history of science; history of education; digital bibliography; information retrieval; computer vision; constraint-based writing

Andrew Lanham's picture Andrew Lanham
andrew.lanham@yale.edu
4th Year

Twentieth-/21st-century novel; American literature; philosophy and literary theory

Elizabeth Lazzari's picture Elizabeth Lazzari
elizabeth.lazzari@yale.edu
2nd Year

War and trauma literature; poetry and poetics; gender and sexuality

Angus Ledingham's picture Angus Ledingham
angus.ledingham@yale.edu
6th Year

Eighteenth/-19th-century British literature; particularly Pope, Johnson, Austen, Wordsworth, Keats, Tennyson, Eliot and Arnold; translation, moral didacticism and the history of tragedy.

Jeong Yeon Lee's picture Jeong Yeon Lee
jeongyeon.lee@yale.edu
1st Year

Nineteenth-century African American literature; early American literature; violence; protest literature

Brittany Levingston's picture Brittany Levingston
brittany.levingston@yale.edu
4th Year

African American literature and religion

Scarlet Luk's picture Scarlet Luk
scarlet.luk@yale.edu
5th Year

Eighteenth-/19th-century British novel; gender and sexuality; narrative; queer studies; fiction of the Antipodes.

Shu-Han Luo's picture Shu-Han Luo
shu-han.luo@yale.edu
5th Year

Old and Middle English literature; prosody and poetics; manuscript studies; textual criticism; history of the English language.

Chelsie Malyszek's picture Chelsie Malyszek
chelsie.malyszek@yale.edu
4th Year

Twentieth-/21st-century poetry

Christopher McGowan's picture Christopher McGowan
christopher.mcgowan@yale.edu
3rd Year

Twentieth-/21st-Century

Margaret McGowan's picture Margaret McGowan
margaret.mcgowan@yale.edu
3rd Year

Early Modern

Shayne McGregor's picture Shayne McGregor
shayne.mcgregor@yale.edu
2nd Year

Nineteenth-/20th/21st-century African American literature; afrofuturism; speculative fiction and visual media across the African diaspora.

Brandon Menke's picture Brandon Menke
brandon.menke@yale.edu
5th Year

Poetry and poetics; 19th-/20th-century literature; contemporary poetry; cender, race and sexuality studies; visual art and aesthetics; transatlantic studies; queer lyricism; the supernatural.

Lukas Moe's picture Lukas Moe
lukas.moe@yale.edu
5th Year

Poetry; American literature; political theory; linguistics.

Elizabeth Mundell Perkins's picture Elizabeth Mundell Perkins
lizzie.mundellperkins@yale.edu
1st Year

Nineteenth-/20th-century; realism; Russo-British modernism; literature and philosophy; theories of the novel

Katherine Needham's picture Katherine Needham
kate.needham@yale.edu
1st Year

Early modern literature; drama; history of the book; the classical tradition; identity and cognition; literary history and periodization; digital humanities

Carlos Alonso Nugent's picture Carlos Alonso Nugent
carlos.nugent@yale.edu
4th Year

Twentieth-century U.S. literature; 20th-century Latina/o literature; eco-criticism, environmental history, and the environmental humanities; media studies; U.S. ethnic studies; imperialism and globalization; Marxism and other materialisms

Justin Park's picture Justin Park
justin.park@yale.edu
4th Year

Old English; Middle English; history of emotions

Alex Parsons's picture Alex Parsons
alex.parsons@yale.edu

Yale/UCL exchange scholar

Benjamin Pokross's picture Benjamin Pokross
benjamin.pokross@yale.edu
2nd Year

Nineteenth-century American literature; history of the book; media studies.

Peter Raccuglia's picture Peter Raccuglia
peter.raccuglia@yale.edu
5th Year

American literature and music; sound studies; transatlantic studies; media history and theory; history of criticism.

Matthew Rager's picture Matthew Rager
matthew.rager@yale.edu
6th Year

Contemporary fiction; media studies; history of the book

Palmer Rampell's picture Palmer Rampell
palmer.rampell@yale.edu
7th Year

American literature since the nineteenth century, genre fiction, law and literature, transpacific studies

Stephanie Ranks's picture Stephanie Ranks
stephanie.ranks@yale.edu
4th Year

Early modern literature and history; English Renaissance; Milton; history of the book; intersections of oral and literary tradition. 

Alexandra Reider's picture Alexandra Reider
alexandra.reider@yale.edu
5th Year

Old and Middle English; cultural and linguistic contact in Britain (medieval and modern)

Sophia Richardson's picture Sophia Richardson
sophia.richardson@yale.edu
2nd Year

Early Modern; history of science; gender and sexuality; comparative literature.

Sarah Robbins's picture Sarah Robbins
sarah.robbins@yale.edu
6th Year

Nineteenth-century American.

Charles Rousseau's picture Charles Rousseau
charles.rousseau@yale.edu
3rd Year

American literature and religion, race, and fanaticism

Anna Shechtman's picture Anna Shechtman
anna.shechtman@yale.edu
4th Year

Film; gender and sexuality; media studies

Micah Siegel's picture Micah Siegel
micah.siegel@yale.edu
1st Year

Nineteenth-/20th-century American literature; modernism; world literature; digital humanities; sociology of literature

Cera Smith's picture Cera Smith
cera.smith@yale.edu
2nd Year

Twentieth-/21st-century U.S. ethnic literatures (especially African American, black diasporic, chicanx, and latinx), Radical protest literatures of the U.S.; critical race theories, coloniality/decoloniality, body studies.

Joshua Stanley's picture Joshua Stanley
joshua.stanley@yale.edu
6th Year

Romanticism; 18th-century; contemporary poetry; prosody and poetics; philosophy; Marxism.

Melissa Tu's picture Melissa Tu
melissa.tu@yale.edu
2nd Year

Medieval and Renaissance music; manuscript studies; history of the book.

Arthur Wang's picture Arthur Wang
arthur.wang@yale.edu
3rd Year

Twentieth-/21st-Century American literature

William Werrell's picture William Werrell
alex.werrell@yale.edu
1st Year

Southern literature; Victorian poetry; Renaissance poetry; Gothic literature

Sarah Weston's picture Sarah Weston
sarah.weston@yale.edu
2nd Year

Blake; Romantic & Victorian; poetics; word and image; 19th century media; sound studies; animals & eco criticism; book history

Elizabeth Wiet's picture Elizabeth Wiet
elizabeth.wiet@yale.edu
7th Year

Performance studies; 20th-/21st-Century American literature (esp. contemporary drama); the historical avant-garde; affect and aesthetic theory.

Helen Yang's picture Helen Yang
hyoun.yang@yale.edu
2nd Year

Nineteenth-century American literature; aesthetics; transpacific studies; travel literature.