English Introductory Course Information Session

Sign in to join the English Introductory Course Information Session

Monday, August 10, 2.00-3.30 PM EST

DUS: Stefanie Markovits, stefanie.markovits@yale.edu

ADUS: Joseph North, joseph.north@yale.edu

Staff: Erica Sayers, erica.sayers@yale.edu, and Jane Bordiere, jane.bordiere@yale.edu

Please follow the links below to join any of these course information meetings. You are free to enter and leave meetings at any point and may visit as many as you wish.

ENGL 114 Writing Seminars

Director: Heather Klemann, heather.klemann@yale.edu

Zoom link: https://yale.zoom.us/s/97602820471

ENGL 115 Literature Seminars

Director: Ryan Wepler, ryan.wepler@yale.edu

Zoom link: https://yale.zoom.us/s/96591851896

ENGL 120 Reading and Writing the Modern Essay

Director: Kim Shirkhani, kim.shirkhani@yale.edu

Zoom link: https://yale.zoom.us/s/99117020019

ENGL 121 Styles of Academic and Professional Prose

Director: Andrew Ehrgood, andrew.ehrgood@yale.edu

Zoom link: https://yale.zoom.us/s/98070759773

ENGL 123 Introduction to Creative Writing

Director: Richard Deming, richard.deming@yale.edu

Zoom link: https://yale.zoom.us/s/94802870065

ENGL 125 Readings in English Poetry I

Director: Catherine Nicholson, catherine.nicholson@yale.edu

and

ENGL 126 Readings in English Poetry II

Director: Jill Campbell, jill.campbell@yale.edu

Zoom link: https://yale.zoom.us/s/94763390065

ENGL 127 Readings in American Literature

Director: John Williams, robert.j.williams@yale.edu

Zoom link: https://yale.zoom.us/s/94606577818

ENGL 128 Readings in Comparative World English Literatures

Director: Joe Cleary, joseph.n.cleary@yale.edu

Zoom link: https://yale.zoom.us/s/94265312820

ENGL 129 Tragedy in the European Literary Tradition

Director: Greg Ellermann, greg.ellermann@yale.edu

and

ENGL 130 Epic in the European Literary Tradition

Director: Stefanie Markovits, stefanie.markovits@yale.edu

Zoom link: https://yale.zoom.us/s/97628835352

 

Even though Yale College has no formal requirement in English, most first-year students choose to take one or more courses in the English department. Whatever majors they later choose, first-year students need to learn to read analytically and write clearly at the college level. The English department offers a variety of courses that enhance students’ skill and confidence as readers and writers. These courses are taught in seminar-sized groups and are open to students of all interests and backgrounds. All first-year courses except ENGL 123 may be applied toward the Yale College distributional requirement in writing. It should be noted that medical schools encourage, and in many cases require, their applicants to have taken one term or more of English.

Introductory English courses (ENGL 114 through ENGL 130) offer a variety of ways for students to develop their skills as insightful readers and writers. ENGL 114 and ENGL 115 are writing seminars designed for the majority of first-year students to introduce them to college-level critical analysis and modes of academic argumentation. ENGL 120 through ENGL 123 offer writing workshops in a range of creative and nonacademic genres. ENGL 125 through ENGL 130 offer wide-ranging introductions to literature and are designed for first-year students who think they might go on to do advanced work in the humanities at Yale, whether as majors or nonmajors. The foundational courses ENGL 125 through ENGL 128 are especially recommended for students considering a major in English.

For more complete information about introductory English courses and guidelines for placement, see Yale College Programs of Study, English Language and LiteraturePlease note that there is no English placement examination. Details about the registration process are available on the department website. Section descriptions indicating the different topics to be covered in sections of ENGL 114, ENGL 115, and ENGL 121 will be posted on the department website approximately two weeks before the beginning of classes. Students uncertain about which course to take should attend English department advising session or the Academic Fair during First-Year Orientation.
 
If, after consulting the department website, you have questions about English courses, please email Erica Sayers at erica.sayers@yale.edu.