Faculty A-Z Listing

All

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | W | X | Y | Z
Hilton Als's picture Hilton Als
Lecturer in English
hilton.als@yale.edu
Drama, Non-fiction Prose, Twentieth Century
Felisa Baynes-Ross's picture Felisa Baynes-Ross
Lecturer in English
felisa.baynes-ross@yale.edu
Drama, Literature & Theology, Middle English language and literature, Poetry
James Berger's picture James Berger
Senior Lecturer in English and American Studies
james.berger@yale.edu
American, Contemporary Literature, Theory
Murray Biggs's picture Murray Biggs
Adjunct Associate Professor of Theater Studies - Retired
murray.biggs@yale.edu
Drama
Harold Bloom's picture Harold Bloom
Sterling Professor of the Humanities, Professor of English
203-432-0029
harold.bloom@yale.edu
Non-fiction Prose, Poetry, Victorian
Marie Borroff's picture Marie Borroff
Sterling Professor Emeritus of English
marie.borroff@yale.edu
Middle English language and literature, Old English language and literature, Poetry, Poetry Writing
Jessica Brantley's picture Jessica Brantley
Professor of English
+1 (203) 432-7663
jessica.brantley@yale.edu
Drama, Gender & Sexuality, History of the Book, Literature & Visual Arts, Media Studies, Middle English language and literature, Old English language and literature
Steven Brill's picture Steven Brill
Lecturer in English, Lecturer in Creative Writing, Lecturer in Journalism
steven.brill@yale.edu
Journalism
Leslie Brisman's picture Leslie Brisman
Karl Young Professor of English
203-432-0488
leslie.brisman@yale.edu
Early Modern, Poetry, Romantic, Victorian
Richard Brodhead's picture Richard Brodhead
A. Bartlett Giamatti Professor Emeritus of English
+1 203-432-2902
richard.brodhead@yale.edu
American, Nineteenth Century
David Bromwich's picture David Bromwich
Sterling Professor of English
203-432-7538
david.bromwich@yale.edu
Eighteenth-Century, History of Literary Criticism, Non-fiction Prose, Poetry, Romantic, Theory
Ardis Butterfield's picture Ardis Butterfield
Marie Borroff Professor of English, Professor of French, Professor of Music
203-432-5764
ardis.butterfield@yale.edu

On Leave 2018-2019

History of the Book, Literature & Music, Middle English language and literature, Poetry, Theory, Translation
Jill Campbell's picture Jill Campbell
Professor of English
203-432-6896
jill.campbell@yale.edu
Children's Literature, Drama, Eighteenth-Century, Novel, Romantic
Jami Carlacio's picture Jami Carlacio
Lecturer in English
jami.carlacio@yale.edu
African-American, American, Digital Humanities, Feminist Theory, Rhetorical Theory
Janice Carlisle's picture Janice Carlisle
Professor Emeritus of English
janice.carlisle@yale.edu
Non-fiction Prose, Novel, Victorian
Danielle Chapman's picture Danielle Chapman
Lecturer in English
203-432-2234
danielle.chapman@yale.edu
Creative Writing, Poetry, Poetry Writing
Susan Choi's picture Susan Choi
Lecturer in English
susan.choi@yale.edu
Creative Writing, Novel
Joseph Cleary's picture Joseph Cleary
Professor of English
203-432-2236
joseph.n.cleary@yale.edu
Colonial & Postcolonial
Peter Cole's picture Peter Cole
Horace W. Goldsmith Senior Lecturer in Judaic Studies, Senior Lecturer in Comparative Literature
203-285-7060
peter.cole@yale.edu
Contemporary Literature, Creative Writing, Poetry, Poetry Writing, Translation
John Crowley's picture John Crowley
Senior Lecturer in English, Senior Lecturer in Creative Writing - Retired
john.crowley@yale.edu
Creative Writing, Film, Novel, Science Fiction
Michael Cunningham's picture Michael Cunningham
Senior Lecturer in English, Senior Lecturer in Creative Writing
michael.cunningham@yale.edu
Creative Writing
Margaret Deli's picture Margaret Deli
Lecturer in English
margaret.deli@yale.edu
American, Gender & Sexuality, Historical Aesthetics, Literature & Visual Arts, Modern British, Nineteenth Century, Non-fiction Prose, Novel, Pedagogy, Rhetorical Theory, Twentieth Century, Victorian, Visual Art
Richard Deming's picture Richard Deming
Senior Lecturer in English
+1 (203) 432-9641
richard.deming@yale.edu
Creative Writing
Michael Denning's picture Michael Denning
Professor of American Studies, Professor of English
203-432-2267
michael.denning@yale.edu
American
Wai Chee Dimock's picture Wai Chee Dimock
William Lampson Professor of American Studies, Professor of English
203-432-2228
wai.chee.dimock@yale.edu
African-American, American, Contemporary Literature, History of Literary Criticism, Media Studies, Novel, Poetry, Theory, World Anglophone
Anastasia Eccles's picture Anastasia Eccles
Assistant Professor of English
+1 (203) 432-2248
anastasia.eccles@yale.edu
Andrew Ehrgood's picture Andrew Ehrgood
Lecturer in English; Course director, English 121; Course co-director, English 120
+1 (203) 464-0802
andrew.ehrgood@yale.edu
Greg Ellermann's picture Greg Ellermann
Lecturer in English
greg.ellermann@yale.edu
Poetry, Romantic
Randi Epstein's picture Randi Epstein
Lecturer in English
randi.epstein@yale.edu
Gender & Sexuality, Journalism, Medical History, Medical Writing
Anne Fadiman's picture Anne Fadiman
Francis Writer in Residence; Professor (Adjunct) of English
+1 (203) 432-5325
anne.fadiman@yale.edu
Creative Writing, Journalism, Non-fiction Prose
Marta Figlerowicz's picture Marta Figlerowicz
Assistant Professor of Comparative Literature, Assistant Professor of English
203-432-2763
marta.figlerowicz@yale.edu
American, Contemporary Literature, Gender & Sexuality, Literature & Philosophy, Literature & Visual Arts, Media Studies, Modern British, Non-fiction Prose, Novel, Theory, World Anglophone
Roberta Frank's picture Roberta Frank
Marie Borroff Professor Emeritus of English
roberta.frank@yale.edu
Old English language and literature, Poetry
Paul Fry's picture Paul Fry
William Lampson Professor Emeritus of English
paul.fry@yale.edu
Children's Literature, Eighteenth-Century, History of Literary Criticism, Literature & Philosophy, Literature & Visual Arts, Poetry, Romantic, Theory
Amity Gaige's picture Amity Gaige
Lecturer in English
amity.gaige@yale.edu
Creative Writing
Ben Glaser's picture Ben Glaser
Assistant Professor of English
203-432-2234
ben.glaser@yale.edu
African-American, American, History of Literary Criticism, Modern British, Poetry, Theory, Victorian
Louise Glück's picture Louise Glück
Professor (Adjunct) of English, Rosenkranz Writer-in-Residence
203-432-6895
Creative Writing, Poetry
Jacqueline Goldsby's picture Jacqueline Goldsby
Professor of English, Professor of African American Studies, Professor of American Studies
203-432-3744
jacqueline.goldsby@yale.edu

On Leave 2018-2019

African-American, American, History of Literary Criticism, History of the Book, Theory
Sara Suleri Goodyear's picture Sara Suleri Goodyear
Professor Emeritus of English
sara.goodyear@yale.edu
World Anglophone
Joseph Gordon's picture Joseph Gordon
Lecturer in English - Retired
joseph.gordon@yale.edu
Contemporary Literature, Expository Writing, Gender & Sexuality, Modern British, Novel
David Gorin's picture David Gorin
Lecturer in English
david.gorin@yale.edu
Creative Writing, Poetry, Poetry Writing, Theory
Derek Green's picture Derek Green
Lecturer in English
derek.green@yale.edu
Creative Writing
Langdon Hammer's picture Langdon Hammer
Niel Gray, Jr. Professor of English, Department Chair
203-432-2236
langdon.hammer@yale.edu
American, Contemporary Literature, Modern British, Poetry, Poetry Writing
Susan Hartman's picture Susan Hartman
Lecturer in English
(203) 432-7998
susan.hartman@yale.edu
Journalism, Non-fiction Prose, Poetry, Visual Art
Alanna Hickey's picture Alanna Hickey
Assistant Professor of English
alanna.hickey@yale.edu
Margaret Homans's picture Margaret Homans
Professor of English, Professor of Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies
203-432-4650
margaret.homans@yale.edu
African-American, Modern British, Romantic, Victorian
Amy Hungerford's picture Amy Hungerford
Dean of the Humanities Division, Bird White Housum Professor of English, Professor of American Studies
203-432-9665
amy.hungerford@yale.edu
American, Contemporary Literature, History of Literary Criticism, History of the Book, Novel, Poetry, Poetry Writing, Theory
Rona Johnston Gordon's picture Rona Johnston Gordon
Lecturer in English
2034369019
rona.gordon@yale.edu
Rosemary Jones's picture Rosemary Jones
Lecturer in English
rosemary.jones@yale.edu
David Kastan's picture David Kastan
George M. Bodman Professor of English
203-432-2242
david.kastan@yale.edu
Drama, Early Modern, History of the Book, Media Studies
Heather Klemann's picture Heather Klemann
Director of Expository Writing, Lecturer in English
heather.klemann@yale.edu
Children's Literature, Eighteenth-Century, Gender & Sexuality, Novel, Romantic
Verlyn Klinkenborg's picture Verlyn Klinkenborg
Lecturer in English, Lecturer in Forestry and Environmental Studies
verlyn.klinkenborg@yale.edu
Creative Writing
Jonathan Kramnick's picture Jonathan Kramnick
Maynard Mack Professor of English
203-432-2231
jonathan.kramnick@yale.edu
Eighteenth-Century, Literature & Ecology, Literature & Philosophy, Literature & Science
Timothy Kreiner's picture Timothy Kreiner
Lecturer in English
203-432-6895
timothy.kreiner@yale.edu
Traugott Lawler's picture Traugott Lawler
Professor Emeritus of English
203-432-6366
traugott.lawler@yale.edu
Middle English language and literature, Old English language and literature
Naomi Levine's picture Naomi Levine
Assistant Professor of English
naomi.levine@yale.edu

On Leave 2018-2019

History of Literary Criticism, Poetry, Victorian
Katja Lindskog's picture Katja Lindskog
Lecturer in English
katja.lindskog@yale.edu
Drama, Gender & Sexuality, Literature & Ecology, Literature & Visual Arts, Novel, Romantic, Victorian
Sarah Mahurin's picture Sarah Mahurin
Residential College Dean - Timothy Dwight College
203-432-0754
sarah.mahurin@yale.edu
African-American, American
Lawrence Manley's picture Lawrence Manley
William R. Kenan, Jr. Professor of English
203-432-2249
lawrence.manley@yale.edu
Drama, Early Modern, History of Literary Criticism, World Anglophone
Donald Margulies's picture Donald Margulies
Professor (Adjunct) of English, Professor (Adjunct) of Theater Studies
203-432-2235
donald.margulies@yale.edu
Creative Writing
Stefanie Markovits's picture Stefanie Markovits
Professor of English
203-432-9078
stefanie.markovits@yale.edu
Eighteenth-Century, Non-fiction Prose, Novel, Romantic, Victorian
Alastair Minnis's picture Alastair Minnis
Douglas Tracy Smith Professor Emeritus of English
alastair.minnis@yale.edu
History of Literary Criticism, History of the Book, Literature & Philosophy, Literature & Theology, Middle English language and literature, Poetry
Priyasha Mukhopadhyay's picture Priyasha Mukhopadhyay
Assistant Professor of English
priyasha.mukhopadhyay@yale.edu
Colonial & Postcolonial, Contemporary Literature, History of the Book, Media Studies, Nineteenth Century, Twentieth Century, Victorian, World Anglophone
Stephanie Newell's picture Stephanie Newell
Professor of English
203-432-2246
stephanie.newell@yale.edu
Colonial & Postcolonial, Gender & Sexuality, History of the Book, Media Studies
Pamela Newton's picture Pamela Newton
Lecturer in English
pamela.newton@yale.edu
Drama, Journalism, Non-fiction Prose
Catherine Nicholson's picture Catherine Nicholson
Associate Professor of English
203-432-2243
catherine.nicholson@yale.edu
Children's Literature, Digital Humanities, Drama, Early Modern, Gender & Sexuality, History of Literary Criticism, History of the Book, Poetry, Rhetorical Theory
Joseph North's picture Joseph North
Assistant Professor of English
joseph.north@yale.edu

On Leave 2018-2019

History of Literary Criticism, Theory
Mark Oppenheimer's picture Mark Oppenheimer
Lecturer in English
203-432-8650
mark.oppenheimer@yale.edu
American, Expository Writing, Journalism
George Packer's picture George Packer
Lecturer in English
george.packer@yale.edu
Contemporary Literature, Fiction Writing, Non-fiction Prose, Novel
Annabel Patterson's picture Annabel Patterson
Sterling Professor Emeritus of English
203-432-7596
annabel.patterson@yale.edu
Early Modern
Lynda Paul's picture Lynda Paul
Lecturer in English, Lecturer in Music, Lecturer in Theater Studies, Residential College Writing Tutor - Pauli Murray College
203-436-8426
lynda.paul@yale.edu
Colonial & Postcolonial, Creative Writing, Drama, Eighteenth-Century, Media Theory, Non-fiction Prose, Pedagogy, Romantic, Theory
John Durham Peters's picture John Durham Peters
María Rosa Menocal Professor of English, Professor of Film and Media Studies
203-432-6894
john.peters@yale.edu
Film, Media Theory, Media & Religion, Medical History, Philosophy of Technology
Caryl Phillips's picture Caryl Phillips
Professor of English
203-432-6893
caryl.phillips@yale.edu
Contemporary Literature, Creative Writing, Fiction Writing, Modern British, Non-fiction Prose, Novel, World Anglophone
David Quint's picture David Quint
Sterling Professor of English, Professor of Comparative Literature
203-432-2229
david.quint@yale.edu
Drama, Early Modern, World Anglophone
Claudia Rankine's picture Claudia Rankine
Frederick Iseman Professor of Poetry
c.rankine@yale.edu
African-American, Creative Writing, Literature & Visual Arts, Non-fiction Prose, Poetry, Poetry Writing
Claude Rawson's picture Claude Rawson
Maynard Mack Professor Emeritus of English
claude.rawson@yale.edu
Eighteenth-Century, Modern British, Non-fiction Prose, Novel, Poetry
Anthony Reed's picture Anthony Reed
Associate Professor of English, Asociate Professor of African American Studies
203-432-1033
anthony.reed@yale.edu
African-American, American, Media Studies, Poetry, Theory, World Anglophone
Jill Richards's picture Jill Richards
Assistant Professor of English
jill.richards@yale.edu
Gender & Sexuality, Novel
Barbara Riley
Lecturer in English, Residential College Writing Tutor - Timothy Dwight College
barbara.riley@yale.edu
Meredith Ringel-Ensley
Lecturer in English
Expository Writing
Joseph Roach's picture Joseph Roach
Sterling Professor Emeritus of Theate, Professor Emeritus of English
joseph.roach@yale.edu
Drama, Eighteenth-Century
Marc Robinson's picture Marc Robinson
Professor of English, Professor of Theater Studies, Professor of American Studies, Professor in the Practice of Drama
203-432-0748
marc.robinson@yale.edu
American, Contemporary Literature, Drama
Timothy Robinson's picture Timothy Robinson
Lecturer in English
203-432-5581
timothy.robinson@yale.edu
John Rogers's picture John Rogers
Professor of English
203-432-2264
john.rogers@yale.edu
Early Modern
Madeleine Saraceni's picture Madeleine Saraceni
Lecturer in English
madeleine.saraceni@yale.edu
Expository Writing, Gender & Sexuality, History of the Book, Middle English language and literature, Poetry
Adam Reid Sexton's picture Adam Reid Sexton
Lecturer in English, Critic in the School of Art
203-432-9665
adam.sexton@yale.edu
Creative Writing, Fiction Writing, Journalism, Non-fiction Prose
Shifra Sharlin's picture Shifra Sharlin
Senior Lecturer in English
203-432-7933
shifra.sharlin@yale.edu
Expository Writing
Kim Shirkhani's picture Kim Shirkhani
Lecturer in English, Co-Course Director, English 120
203-432-7990
kim.shirkhani@yale.edu
Emily Skillings's picture Emily Skillings
Lecturer in English
emily.skillings@yale.edu
Creative Writing
Caleb Smith's picture Caleb Smith
Professor of English, Director of Graduate Studies
203-432-0574
caleb.smith@yale.edu
African-American, American, History of Literary Criticism, History of the Book, Theory
R. Clifton Spargo's picture R. Clifton Spargo
Lecturer in English
r.spargo@yale.edu
Margaret Spillane's picture Margaret Spillane
Lecturer in English
203-432-1005
margaret.spillane@yale.edu
Journalism, Performing Art, Visual Art
Peter Stallybrass's picture Peter Stallybrass
Visiting Professor of English
Michele Stepto
Lecturer in English
203-432-2268
michele.stepto@yale.edu
Children's Literature
Robert Stepto's picture Robert Stepto
John M. Schiff Professor of English, Professor of African American Studies, Professor of American Studies
203-432-2268, 203-432-1170
robert.stepto@yale.edu
African-American, American, Non-fiction Prose
Sarah Stillman's picture Sarah Stillman
Lecturer in English
203-432-2248
sarah.stillman@yale.edu
Creative Writing, Non-fiction Prose
Fred Strebeigh's picture Fred Strebeigh
Senior Lecturer Emeritus in English, Senior Lecturer Emeritus in Forestry and Environmental Studies
fred.strebeigh@yale.edu
Creative Writing, Environmental Writing, Non-fiction Prose
Barbara Stuart's picture Barbara Stuart
Lecturer in English
203-432-7998
barbara.stuart@yale.edu
Rasheed Tazudeen's picture Rasheed Tazudeen
Lecturer in English
rasheed.tazudeen@yale.edu
Emily Thornbury's picture Emily Thornbury
Associate Professor of English
emily.thornbury@yale.edu
Historical Aesthetics, Latin literature, Old English language and literature, Poetics, Poetry
Aaron Tracy's picture Aaron Tracy
Lecturer in English
aaron.tracy@yale.edu
Drama, Fiction Writing, Film, Twentieth Century
Katie Trumpener's picture Katie Trumpener
Emily Sanford Professor of Comparative Literature, Professor of English
203-432-7674
katie.trumpener@yale.edu
Children's Literature, Colonial & Postcolonial, Drama, Eighteenth-Century, History of the Book, Literature & Visual Arts, Media Studies, Modern British, Novel, Romantic, Translation, Victorian, World Anglophone
Michael Warner's picture Michael Warner
Seymour H. Knox Professor of English, Professor of American Studies
203-436-2590
michael.warner@yale.edu
African-American, American, Eighteenth-Century, History of the Book, Media Studies, Theory
Ryan Wepler's picture Ryan Wepler
Lecturer in English
203-432-0189
ryan.wepler@yale.edu
R. John Williams's picture R. John Williams
Associate Professor of English
203-432-2237
robert.j.williams@yale.edu
American, Colonial & Postcolonial, Contemporary Literature, Digital Humanities, History of Literary Criticism, History of the Book, Literature & Ecology, Literature & Philosophy, Literature & Science, Literature & Visual Arts, Media Studies, Non-fiction Prose, Novel, Poetry, Theory, Translation, World Anglophone
Bob Woodward's picture Bob Woodward
Lecturer in English
bob.woodward@yale.edu
Journalism
Sunny Xiang's picture Sunny Xiang
Assistant Professor of English, Associate Director of Undergraduate Studies
203-432-7590
sunny.xiang@yale.edu
Asian-American, Contemporary Literature, Twentieth Century, World Anglophone
Ruth Yeazell's picture Ruth Yeazell
Sterling Professor of English
203-432-2239
ruth.yeazell@yale.edu
American, Eighteenth-Century, Gender & Sexuality, Literature & Visual Arts, Modern British, Novel, Victorian
Suzanne Young
Director of Graduate and Postdoctoral Teaching Development
+1 (203) 432-8850
suzanne.young@yale.edu
Cynthia Zarin's picture Cynthia Zarin
Senior Lecturer in English, Writing Concentration Coordinator
cynthia.zarin@yale.edu
Children's Literature, Creative Writing, Drama, Journalism, Literature & Science, Literature & Visual Arts, Non-fiction Prose, Poetry